Hearts and Flowers. But also.

by norealplot

Another Mother’s Day is behind us. Did you download your specialty mom-tribute playlist? There’s the “Top 10 Mother’s Day Country Songs” (Faith Hill, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride), each one certified to make you cry. There’s Billboard’s “20 Songs for Mom” (The-Dream, Danzig, 2Pac, Pink Floyd). There’s “31 Most Adorable Songs About Moms” featuring Kanye West, whose “Hey Mama” includes this:

“Can’t you see you’re like a book of poetry? / Maya Angelou, Nicky Giovanni / Turn one page and there’s my mommy.”

Yes. Kanye says “Mommy.” Nice!

But my under-16 boys have not yet evolved to that happy stage where they’d look at me and think, like *NSYNC: “(God Must Have Spent) A Little More Time on You.” Not quite.

IMG_7016 2So I propose a Mothers’ playlist to capture the experiences of those, like me, who do not yet wholly inhabit the land of Hearts and Flowers.

It’s just a start. What should I add? Comment to nominate your favorites. And, as they say, rock on.